Announcing Auditions for JTC’s production of Beauty and the Beast.

Beauty and the Beast.  A selfish prince is turned into a beast by an enchantress until he learns to love and be loved. He meets Belle, fights Gaston, and learns to love, but will it be too late?

Auditions for Beauty and the Beast will be virtual and must be submitted by February 12th, with callbacks posted on February 14th.  

Callbacks for Beauty and the Beast will be in person on February 15th at 4 p.m. in the auditorium. 

Auditions will be a bit different this year due to COVID. 

If you want to audition you will be asked to submit 2 video recordings by February 12.

  1.  performing a 1 -1 ½ minute monologue

  2. performing the song “Belle” from Beauty and the BeastPlease submit to Laura, Gaby, and Jamie:  
     Laura Schmit (director- lschmit@isd271.org)
    Gaby Schmit (director/choreographer- gabyschmit03@gmail.com)
     Jamie Schmidt (musical director- jschmidt3@isd271.org)

A.  In the vocal audition “packet” you will find the following:

  1. Sheet music of the audition cut – sheetmusiccutlink
  2. A recording of the vocal part only- vocalonlylink
  3. A recording of the vocal part + accompaniment part- vocalwithaccomplink
  4. A recording of the accompaniment only- accomponlylink

B. How to practice: Use the sheet music and the recording of the vocal part only to practice. 

  1. When you feel comfortable with the vocal line, move on to singing with the vocal + accompaniment track. 
  2. Finally, move on to singing your part with the accompaniment only track. 

NOTE: There is a count off at the beginning of each track with your starting note. 

C. Video submission: 

  1. You will need two devices. One to play the accompaniment track and one to record you singing along with the track. 
  2. You may use either the vocal + accompaniment track OR the accompaniment only track for your video submission. 
  3. Vocal and monologue videos should be emailed in 2 separate emails to all 3 directors. 

NOTE: If you wish to be considered for a lead role, please use the accompaniment only track. 
Things to remember (especially since Jamie can’t be in the room with you!):

  • We all want you to succeed!! It’s easy to be nervous, but we’re cheering for you. 
  • SMILE! How you engage with your “audience” is just as or more important than singing all the right notes. 
  • BREATHE

  Callbacks will be similar to previous years with added social distancing procedures with readings, vocals and dance.  No music needs to be prepared ahead of time for callbacks.

Laura Schmit (director- lschmit@isd271.org)
Gaby Schmit (director/choreographer- gabyschmit03@gmail.com)
Jamie Schmidt (musical director- jschmidt3@isd271.org )

Masks and hand sanitizer are required.
Temperatures will be taken upon arrival.
Each person must be symptom free.
See JTCBC COVID-19 plan for more information. 
Here is the link: JTCBC COVID-19 plan.
                            **********************************************

All forms and payments must be complete before you will be cleared for casting.To ensure a smooth audition
, please complete your online registration by 10pm on Thursday February 11th to allow your registration to be processed. 

To audition, you must complete 4 steps:

1. JTC Audition form: 
Here is the linkBATB audition form

2. Submit 2 video recordings by February 12th to Laura, Gaby, and Jamie. 

  1.  performing a 1 -1 ½ minute monologue

  2. performing the song “Belle” from Beauty and the Beast

  
3. JTC Show Payment:
The Jefferson Theater Company Fee for actors covers the salary of the director, set building, costumes, etc. in addition to the show T-Shirt, Cast Party, and any provided meals.  This fee MUST be paid in order to be cast in the show.  The fee for Tech/Costumers covers the show T-Shirt, Cast Party, and any provided meals.  The link for online payment is listed below- $100 (actors) or $50 (tech).  Scholarships are available- please contact Laura Schmit at 612-270-9106 laurasschmit@gmail.com if you need a scholarship.  Here is the link for the fees to be in BATB.

4. Bloomington Activity Registration Form and Payment:
The Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) form MUST be filled out and the fee MUST be paid to the district. (Paid Techs are exempt from this.) ALL Jefferson activities require the MSHSL form for liability reasons.  Please have your Student ID number handy and follow this link to fill out the form and pay the $95 fee:
Bloomington Activity Registration Form and Payment     (Click on the Soccer Ball to get to the registration!)
(the link for spring musical payment should be available in the next day or two).


****
Tentative rehearsal schedule is listed below.  This will be subject to change, especially with COVID, but please make sure to list ALL conflicts on your audition form.  

REHEARSAL SCHEDULE FOR 
Beauty and the Beast
(Subject to change)

Mon. Feb. 15  4:00-7:00 Callbacks

Wed. Feb 17 4:00-7:00 Full Cast 

  • Read thru – Stage 

Fri.  Feb. 19 4:00-7:00 Full Cast

  • Improv – Stage

Mon Feb 22 4-7 – vocals

Tues. Feb 23 4:00 -7- vocals

Wed. Feb 24 4:00-7  Full Cast

  • Choreograph: Be Our Guest
  • Block Maurice and Belle
  • Block LeFeu and Gaston

Fri. Feb. 26 4-7

  • Choreograph: Gaston
  • Block Beast and Belle
  • Block Belle, Wardrobe, Mrs. Potts

Mon. March 1  4-7 Full cast

  • Block: Act 1 (Laura )
  • Choreograph Belle and review Be Our Guest 

Tues. March 2 -4-7

Wed. March 3 4-7

      Mob Song, Human Again

Fri March 5 4-7 

Sat. March 6 Choreo Day 10-3

Mon. March 8 4-7

Tues. March 9 4-7 Lines Due Full cast Run Act 1 (Laura)

Wed. March 10  4-7 Lines Due  Full cast Run Act 2 (Laura) 

Sat. March 13  9-3 

  • Set construction

Mon. March 15 4-7 Work Act 1

Tues. March 16 4-7 Work Act 2

Wed. March 17 4-7  work Act 1

Fri March 19 4-7 work Act 2

Sat. March 20 9-3 set building

Mon. March 22 4-7  Run show

Tues. March 23 4-7 Run show

Wed. March 24 4-8 Run show 

Fri. March 26 4-7 TBD

March 29 -April 2 spring break – set construction tbd  

Mon. April 5 -4-7 Run Act 1 – hang/focus lights this week

Tues. April 6 4-7 Run Act 2

Wed. April 7- 4-8  Run show

Fri. April 9 -4-8 Run show

Sat.. April 10  9-5  Full cast -finish set/run show

Mon. April 12 4-8:00 run show Full cast add mics

Tues. April 13 4-8 Run show – 

Wed. April 14 4-8 Run show- add castle character costumes

Fri. April 16 4-8 Run show

Sat. April 17  9-4 TBD

Mon. April 19 4-9 Run show

Tues. April 20 4-9 Run Show


PERFORMANCES:

Thurs. April 22 call 1:00 for 3p.m. show

Fri. April 23 call 5 p.m. for 7 p.m. show 

Sat. April 24 call 11 for  1 pm and 7 p.m. show

Sun. April 25 call 11 for 1 p.m. show

Fri. April 30 call 5 p.m. for 7 p.m. show followed by Cast party if possible

Sat. May 1 at 7 pm followed by strike

Questions:
Laura (director)  612-270-9106
Gaby(director/choreographer) 612-280-5689
Jamie (vocals)  712-251-6009